CLEARANCE SALE UP TO -80%

Mastour Galleries   since 1890

Brussels      –      New York

The best selection of the most beautiful oriental rugs & carpets

Chaussée de Waterloo 751 (Bascule) – 1180 Brussels

Tel: 02/538.64.32        Open Monday to Saturday from 10h to 19h

Oriental carpets are a hereditary passion for our family, passed down through three generations. I acquired my know-how and experience from my parents and grandparents. I am personally at your disposal to advise you during your purchase and cleaning & restoration of your old or contemporary carpets.

Realization of custom design carpets, all colours and dimensions.

The manufacture of oriental carpets

The knotting of oriental carpets is an ancestral art, each carpet is a unique piece, made with care by craftsmen. We select for you the best carpets from Pakistan, Iran, India, Nepal, China, Turkey, Afghanistan, Turkmenistan,…

The manufacture requires several trades: designers, wool spinners, dyers, weavers.

The wool is spun by hand, which gives it the natural appearance of a carpet. Then the wool is dyed with natural pigments. These are extracted from plants, vegetables and fruits. The dyeing is prepared in large pots heated over a wood fire. The vegetable dye is never uniform. After being dyed, the wool is dried in the sun for about three days.

The first step in the creation of the carpet is its design. A first sketch is made on graph paper, then it is copied on a paper to the actual size of the carpet. The colours to be used are then chosen.

Once the drawing is finished, the paper will be hung in front of the weaver’s loom. The knotters then follow the instructions. The carpet is traditionally knotted by hand using hooks.   A carpet of 2 meters by 3 meters, requires the work of 4 people during 4 months to 2 years (sometimes more!) depending on the fineness of the knots.

After weaving, the wool must be cut to give it a uniform appearance. It is then washed.  The washing process of the carpet is entirely manual, after each washing, the drying is done in the sun.

Then comes the finishing: inspection of the carpet to remove any irregularities. The selvedge and the fringe stops are then added, all by hand.

I invite you to come and see our carpet collections in our gallery. I put my experience at your disposal to advise you during your purchase.

Realization custom design carpets in all colors and sizes.

Pick-up and delivery at your request

Free quote

DESTOCKAGE     JUSQU’À -80%

Mastour Galleries   since 1890

Brussels     –      New York

La Meilleure sélection des plus beaux tapis d’orient

Chaussée de Waterloo 751 (Bascule) – 1180 Bruxelles

Tél: 02/538.64.32          Ouvert du lundi au samedi de 10h à 19h

Le tapis d’Orient, pour notre famille, c’est une passion héréditaire, transmise par notre famille depuis trois générations. J’ai acquis mon savoir-faire et mon expérience auprès de mes parents et grands parents. Je me tiens personnellement à votre disposition pour vous conseiller lors de votre achat et toute restauration et nettoyage de vos tapis anciens ou comtemporains selon toutes les règles des traditions.

Réalisation de tapis design sur mesure, toutes couleurs et toutes dimensions.

La fabrication des tapis d’orient

Le nouage des tapis d’orient est un art ancestral, chaque tapis est une pièce unique, confectionnée avec soin par des artisans. Nous sélectionnons pour vous les meilleurs tapis en provenance d’Iran, Inde, Népal, Chine, Turquie, Afghanistan, Turkmenistan,…

La fabrication nécessite plusieurs corps de métier : dessinateurs, fileurs de laines, teinturiers, tisserands.

La laine est filée à la main, ce qui lui donne l’aspect naturel au tapis. Ensuite la laine passe pour coloration avec des pigments naturels. Ceux-ci sont extraits de plantes, légumes, fruits. La teinture est préparée dans de grandes marmites chauffées au feu de bois. La teinture végétale n’est jamais uniforme. Après voir été teintée, la laine est séchée au soleil pendant environ trois jours.

La première étape de la création du tapis est son dessin. Une première ébauche est faite sur papier millimétré, ensuite il est copié sur un papier à la taille réelle de la dimension du tapis. On choisi ensuite les couleurs à utiliser.

Une fois le dessin terminé, le papier sera accroché devant le métier du tisserand. Les noueurs suivent alors les instructions. Le tapis est noué traditionnellement à la main à l’aide de crochets.   Un tapis de 2 mètres sur 3 mètres, nécessite un travail de 4 personnes durant de 4mois à 2ans (parfois plus!) en fonction de la finesse des noeuds.

Après tissage, le tapis dois être tondu pour recevoir un aspect uniforme. Il est ensuite lavé.  Le processus de lavage du tapis est entièrement manuel, après chaque lavage, le séchage se fait au soleil.

Vient ensuite la finition : inspection du tapis pour enlever toutes les irrégularités. La lisière et les arrêts de franche sont ensuite ajoutés, le tout à la main.

Je vous invite à venir voir nos collections de tapis dans notre boutique. Je mets mon expérience à votre disposition pour vous conseiller lors de votre achat.